PREVIEW: Investec Super Rugby Aotearoa – Hurricanes v Chiefs

GettyImages 1254321812

Match details: Hurricanes v Chiefs, Saturday 8 August, 7.05pm, Sky Stadium, Wellington

Referee: James Doleman

Played: 37

Won: Hurricanes 20, Chiefs 15, Drawn 2

Last match: Hurricanes 25, Chiefs 18 (5 July 2020)

Watch: Sky Sport NZ




It might seem hard to put a positive spin on seven losses from seven games but the silver lining for the Chiefs is that they have picked up five losing bonus points in the process. That underlines just how close the Chiefs have been to all their New Zealand opponents. The Hurricanes lost their first two games in the competition before bouncing back with four straight wins. Their last win was their most impressive – a 34-32 win over the Crusaders in Christchurch.


It’s pretty simple for the Hurricanes really. They need to win with a bonus point to keep their slim chances of lifting the inaugural Investec Super Rugby Aotearoa title alive. For the Chiefs, it is all about pride. A victory in Wellington will avoid the ignominy of going winless for the entire season.



Chiefs Head Coach Warren Gatland says his side is heading south with high hopes of ending their season on a positive note. “This weekend is an opportunity to grow and develop some of our young players. We have two young debutants sitting on the bench who have been training hard and it is a good chance for them to get a taste of Super Rugby. There is still a lot to play for in our eyes. The team have a lot of pride in the jersey and our club.  As always, they will be leaving it all on the field,” said Gatland.


The Hurricanes are undefeated in their last five Super Rugby games against the Chiefs (W4, D1), including wins in their last three meetings. The last and only time they won more in succession against them was a four-game stretch from 2005 to 2008.




Hurricanes: 1: Ben May 2: Dane Coles [cc] 3: Tyrel Lomax 4: James Blackwell 5: Scott Scrafton 6: Reed Prinsep 7: Du’Plessis Kirifi 8: Ardie Savea9: TJ Perenara [cc] 10: Jackson Garden-Bachop 11: Wes Goosen 12: Vince Aso 13: Peter Umaga-Jensen 14: Kobus Van Wyk 15: Jordie Barrett


Reserves:16: Asafo Aumua 17: Tevita Mafileo 18: Pouri Rakete-Stones 19: Kane Le’aupepe 20: Devan Flanders 21: Jamie Booth 22: Billy Proctor 23: Jonah Lowe


Chiefs: 1. Ollie Norris 2. Samisoni Taukei’aho 3. Nepo Laulala 4. Naitoa Ah Kuoi 5. Mitchell Brown

6. Luke Jacobson 7. Sam Cane © 8. Pita Gus Sowakula 9. Brad Weber 10. Kaleb Trask 11. Sean Wainui 12. Alex Nankivell 13. Anton Lienert-Brown 14. Shaun Stevenson 15. Damian McKenzie  


Reserves: 16. Bradley Slater 17. Robb Cobb 18. Angus Ta’avao 19. Tupou Vaa’i 20. Mitchell Karpik 21. Lisati Milo-Harris 22. Quinn Tupaea 23. Kini Naholo